Me, Like an Animal

Cannot love lovingly.
I need you to own me,
Fuck me.

Hold me down
And muffle screams.

I beg this of the one I love.
Will he show me mercy?
Give me what I am asking?

It is a guessing game,
Leave the answer for the morning,
Or the next blue moon.

These needs I’ve revealed are true.

And if we cannot be,
We won’t.

Wisdom will tell us now to part.
Or time will tear us all the same.

Whatever it is,
we must make our decision.

We deserve better and brighter
Than the fiery death.
We are smarter than the lust,
and not nearly as passionate.

About Jessica Lee

Jessica is a twenty-something poet who performs most of her work on stage in Spoken Word. She has found writing therapeutic since she was child, and has pursued it ceaselessly. She enjoys writing even the most fleeting thoughts and dreams as SensicalRavings. Between long retail shifts, she enjoys writing observational pieces (always with a slant) of locally relevant subjects as ALLGainesville. If you appreciate inspiring, coming-of-age suppositions, become a follower. Though it's not always roses, it's raw!

Leave a Reply

